News Feature

Blue Hill & Brooklin
Originally published in The Weekly Packet, February 27, 2014
Blue Hill, Brooklin elections take shape as town meetings draw near

by Faith DeAmbrose

The time to file nomination papers in Blue Hill and Brooklin has come and gone, and while there will be a few new faces, there will be no contested races on the ballots.

In Blue Hill, incumbent John Bannister will seek reelection to a three-year seat on the board of selectmen. Bannister currently serves as chairman of that board.

Incumbent Road Commissioner Billy Cousins will seek another three-year term in that post.

Incumbent Patricia Anne Rice and newcomer Sean Walsh have returned papers for two three-year seats on the school board.

There are no declared candidates for two open three-year seats on the planning board. If a write-in candidate does not accept the nomination, the board of selectmen have the legal authority to appoint people to those positions.

In Brooklin, incumbent Deborah Brewster will seek reelection to a three-year term on the board of selectmen.

Lori Gallo was the sole candidate to file papers for an open two-year seat on the board of selectmen left vacant by the intended resignation of Selectman Mike Roy set to occur during the town meeting process.

Incumbent Mike Sealander will seek reelection to a three-year term on the school board; incumbent Neil Allen will seek another one-year term as road commissioner, and incumbent Jeannine Hardy will again seek another three-year term as town clerk.

In both towns, elections will take place on Friday, April 4, and the business portion of town meeting will take place at 9 a.m. on Saturday, April 5. Polling times have yet to be set.