News Feature

The Peninsula
Originally published in The Weekly Packet, November 1, 2012
The Weekly Packet - Polling hours and more for Election Day, November 6

Election 2012 Archive
Click here to see the full Election 2012 Archive.

The last day absentee ballots are available for pick up is Thursday, November 1. All absentee ballots must be returned to the polling station or town office by 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Voters can register any time, up to and including Election Day. To register to vote as a new Maine voter, a voter must have ID (a Maine driver’s license number or list the last four digits of your Social Security Number).

Voters must also have “proof of residency.” This proof can be many different things that have the address of the place of residence in the municipality on it: bills or letters mailed (if not a P.O. Box), a copy of a lease, a tax return, current hunting or fishing license or “any other objective facts that tend to indicate your place of residence.”

If a voter has moved from one Maine town to another, and was previously registered in the state, all the voter needs to register is proof of residency.

All polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, November 6.

Blue Hill: Voting at town office, upstairs. Town Clerk Etta Perkins and Registrar of Voters Lucy Sisco, 374-2281. Office hours: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

Brooklin: Voting at firehouse, 25 Bay Rd. Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters Jeannine Hardy, 359-8394. Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 1-5 p.m.

Brooksville: Voting at Town House. Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters Amber Bakeman, 326-4518. Office hours: Monday and Wednesday, 9 a.m.-2 p.m.; Thursday, 6-8 p.m.

Sedgwick: Voting at Sedgwick Town House, 574 North Sedgwick Rd. Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters Cynthia Reilly,

359-2275 or 326-9012. Office hours: Wednesday 1:30-6 p.m. and Thursday 2:30-5:30 p.m., at home Wednesday, 7-8:30 p.m.

Surry: Voting at fire station. Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters Angela Smith, 667-5912. Office hours: Tuesday through Friday, 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m.