News Feature

The Island
Web exclusive, March 25, 2011
DIS Winter sports awards
Scott's Sport Spot

DISHS Sports Archive
Click here to see the full DISHS Sports Archive.

by Jack Scott

It seems ironic that the winter sports awards were handed out a few days before the first day of spring, but here they are.

The chess team players who received awards were Ian Pelletier, MVP; Andy Turner, Most Improved Player; and Gareth Warr and Heidi Brewer each received the Coach’s Award.

Cheerleading coach Kim Larsen gave all her squad a trophy commemorating their state runner-up performance. She also handed out a Captain’s Award to Kelsey Davis and a Co-captain Award to Amber Jones. Emma Merritt received the Lacy Greenlaw Memorial Sportsmanship Award.

Junior varsity boys basketball coach Tony Bray gave out the following awards: Lucas Oliver, Leading Rebounder; Stuart Bray, Most Improved Player; Jacob Starkey, Defensive Award; and Nathan Davis, MVP.

All the basketball coaches recognized their managers with special awards “in recognition of service and dedication.”

The managers who received these awards were, for JV boys, Katye Proper and Megan Weed; for girls varsity, Tegan McGuire and Alec Eaton; and for boys varsity, Bethany Cormier and Jocelyn Dolbow.

Girls varsity basketball coach Darren Eaton handed out the following awards: Britnie Jones, Top Rebounder; Heidi Brewer, Defensive Award; Chelsea Brown, Foul Shooting and High Scorer Award; Shiann Closson, Rookie of the Year; Julie Hutchins, Most Improved; Janelle Ciomei, Defensive Award “Most Versatile”; and Sarah Boutilier, Coach’s Award—“Most Dedicated.” Britnie Jones and Abigail Grindle each received the Harry Scott Memorial Sportsmanship Award for outstanding ability, team leadership and general sportsmanship.

Boys varsity basketball coach Glenn Billings gave out the following awards: Hayden Ciomei, Top Rebounder and Most Improved Awards; Kevin Melanio, Defensive Player; Connor Morey, Coach’s Award—“Hustle”; Sam Grindle, Foul Shooting and 3-Point Goal Awards; Tim Cormier, Rookie of the Year; Mario Bartlett, Mariner Spirit Award; and Dylan Brown, Mariner Spirit and Sixth Man Awards. Sam Grindle also got the Donald H. Bartlett Memorial Sportsmanship Award for outstanding ability, team leadership, and general sportsmanship.

Britnie Jones was named to the First All Tourney Team for Class D as well as being picked to play in the McDonald’s Senior All Star Game for Class C & D. Janelle Ciomei received an honorable mention for the Class D All Tourney team. For the Penobscot Valley Conference Class C/D Girls All Stars, Britnie Jones was picked on the second team, Chelsea Brown was an honorable mention, and Heidi Brewer was picked for the All Defensive Team.

For the PVC Class C/D Boys All Stars, Sam Grindle was picked for the second team and Kevin Melanio, the All Defensive Team. Heidi Brewer and Abigail Grindle played in the PVC All Star game for Class C & D.

A very prestigious award that was barely announced in the Bangor paper was girls coach Darren Eaton receiving the Class D Eastern Maine Girls Coach of the Year from the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches. A fitting exclamation point on a great year for girls basketball.